Building covenantal relationships among Unitarian Universalist women that equip us all to be better co-conspirators and allies in the movement for collective liberation.

Log in



Unitarian Universalist Women's Federation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.

UU Women's Book Club

  • Sunday, February 05, 2023
  • 6:00 PM - 7:30 PM (CST)
  • via Zoom

Registration


Register

Join us on the first Sunday of each month (unless it's a holiday!) to read some of the latest award-winning books as we interpret how they can be tools for social justice. The UU Women's Book Club will allow an entry point into our priority issues and support individuals looking to build on their understanding to be better allies and co-conspirators.

If you have registered for Book Club in the past, you're already signed up for reminders. If this is your first time joining us, please register so that we can continue to keep you updated. 

This program is scheduled for the following times:
4 p.m. Pacific / 5 p.m. Mountain /
6 p.m. Central / 7 p.m. Eastern

* * *

The February 5th read will be:
Brave, Not Perfect

by Reshma Saujani

Imagine if you lived without the fear of not being good enough. If you didn’t care how your life looked on Instagram. If you could let go of the guilt and stop beating yourself up for making human mistakes. Imagine if, in every decision you faced, you took the bolder path?
 
As women, too many of us feel crushed under the weight of our own expectations. We run ourselves ragged trying to please everyone, pass up opportunities that scare us, and avoid rejection at all costs.
 
There’s a reason we act this way, Saujani says. As girls, we were taught to play it safe. Well-meaning parents and teachers praised us for being quiet and polite, urged us to be careful so we didn’t get hurt, and steered us to activities at which we could shine. As a result, we grew up to be women who are afraid to fail.
 
It’s time to stop letting our fears drown out our dreams and narrow our world, along with our chance at happiness.
 
By choosing bravery over perfection, we can find the power to claim our voice, to leave behind what makes us unhappy, and to go for the things we genuinely, passionately want. Perfection may set us on a path that feels safe, but bravery leads us to the one we’re authentically meant to follow. In Brave, Not Perfect, Saujani shares powerful insights and practices to help us let go of our need for perfection and make bravery a lifelong habit. By being brave, not perfect, we can all become the authors of our best and most joyful life.

We believe that supporting local bookstores is a justice-forward step. If you choose to buy this book, please use Bookshop.org if you can.

Auto captioning will be available.

CONTACT US

Tel: 414-750-4404
uuwf@uuwf.org

3322 N. 92nd Street ~ Milwaukee ~ WI 53222

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software